Florida Recognize Your License From Other States
Updated: Jul 27, 2022
Will Florida recognize your license from another state? If you already hold a real estate license from another state, you have few options to obtain your real estate license in Florida.
1) Real Estate License Reciprocity
Florida has mutual recognition with 10 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Rhode Island and West Virginia. Mutual recognition means that if you are licensed in one of these states, you can bypass the education requirement and just complete the licensing requirements for an equivalent license. By “equivalent” we mean that if you are a Sales Associate in the other state, you can be recognized as a Sales Associate in Florida. The same applies for a Broker to Broker transition. A big plus is that you only have to pass a 40-question Florida-specific real estate law exam rather than taking the entire 100-question exam.
You will need to provide a certificate of license history when submitting your license application if you are claiming mutual recognition. Receiving a license in the State of Florida by mutual recognition does not exempt you from the post-license education requirement or from the continuing education you’ll need to complete to renew your Florida license.
2) Two years’ experience in another state
If you are not in a state that has mutual recognition with Florida but you’ve had an active license in any other states for 2 out of the previous 5 years, you can use that experience to bypass the exam for the Florida Sales Associate License and instead obtain a Florida Broker License. You will be required to take the broker pre-licensing course and the full 100-question state exam. It’s important to understand the differences between a sales associate (real estate agent) and a broker.
3) Simply get your Sales Associate’s license
You may prefer to simply get your Sales Associate’s license in Florida. This is especially true if you do not want to become a Broker and fulfill all of the additional compliance requirements for Brokers. The Broker pre-licensing course and state exam are considerably more demanding than those for sales associates. If your goal is to sell real estate and you have the skills needed, the Sales Associate’s license may well be the right choice for you. To take this route to Florida licensure, you would need to successfully complete the 63-hour pre-licensing course and pass the 100-question state exam. Learn how to become a real estate agent in Florida.
As you decide which path to Florida real estate licensure is best for you, keep in mind that laws differ from state to state, and that by completing a pre-licensing course in Florida you will increase your knowledge of Florida real estate law. Depending on where you have practiced previously, you may be surprised at the differences. A firm knowledge of Florida real estate law can help keep you from making mistakes that could lead to disciplinary action by the Florida Real Estate Commission. As a new Florida real estate professional, refreshing and increasing your knowledge can only help you to be the best you can be.